Robert M. Hisnay Award

The Robert M. Hisnay Award established by the OSIA in 1980 to recognize Ohio workers’ compensation programs that have distinguished themselves through demonstrated expertise in the field of workers’ compensation and in implementing and maintaining self-insurance programs that:  

  • adhere to the highest principles and ethics in self-insurance;
  • exhibit a consistent commitment to fair dealing;
  • efficiently and effectively serve the interest of all parties.

Robert Hisnay was a founding member of the Ohio Self-Insurers Association and served on the Board of Managers until his untimely death in 1979. Mr. Hisnay was employed by Ford Motor company for over two decades as the coordinator of its Ohio Workers’ Compensation program and was recognized through the state as an expert in this field. During his term as a Board Member and President, he continually demonstrated his expertise and leadership for establishing a sound self-insurance system in the interest of all parties.

Past Recipients
1980 Hisnay Family
1981 Douglas Gallagher, Champion International Paper Inc.
1982 Robert B. Rady, Republic Steel Corp.
1983 Edward P. Holden, Anchor Hocking Corp.
1984 Ralph Adams, General Motors Corp.
1984 Leslie R. Cooper, MeAd Container Corp.
1985 Inez Weibel, Cleveland Twist Drill Co.
1985 Gerald R. Thomas, Columbus & Southern Ohio Electric Co.
1985 Russell O’Rourke, Cleveland Builders Supply
1985 Gary Auman, Smith & Schnacke
1986 Patrick A. O’Neill, General Motors Corp.
1986 Robin R. Obetz, Executive Secretary, OSIA
1986 Richard D. Schafstall, Cincinnati Gas & Electric Co.
1987 L. Andy Casto, Associated Risk Services
1987 Robert E. Finnessy, Ford Motor Company
1988 Timothy M. Stapleton, Libbey-Owens-Ford Co.
1989 Raymond J. Malone, Sherwin-Williams Co.
1990 Raymond M. LeBlanc, BP America
1992 Ken Gipson, Weyerhaeuser Company
1994 Ruby Rinesmith, BWC, Director Self-Insurance Section
1997 William Gahr, LTV Steel
1998 R. J. (Bob) Kenney, Columbia Gas Transmission
1999 Betty A. Westbrook, ICI Paints
2000 William A. Duda, Columbia Gas of Ohio, Inc.
2004 Barb Wagner, Nelson Tree Service
2005 Hunter Smith Eichhorn, Pepsi Co.
2008 Valerie Ogg, Bob Evans Farms, Inc.
2011 Mindy Chenoweth, Luxottica Group
2014 Loyd Hudson, American Electric Power
         Peggy Downard, Cooper Tire & Rubber Co.
         Catherine Duhigg Gannon, Eaton Corporation
2015 Debbie Lantman

Patrick A. O'Neill Friendship Award

Mr. Patrick A. O’Neill was employed with the General Motors Corporation for thirty-seven years and at the time of his death was the Ohio Director of General Motors Corp. Workers Compensation and Unemployment Activities.

Mr. O’Neill was a founding member of the Ohio Self-Insurers Association and served as a member of the Board of Managers from August, 1974 until his death on March 9, 1987.
Mr. O’Neill was respected throughout the state as a professional in the field of workers compensation. In acknowledgement of Mr. O’Neill’s contribution, the Board of Managers of the Ohio Self-Insurers Association has established the Patrick A. O’Neill Friendship Award to honor those individuals who have demonstrated that they have been supporters and true friends of self-insurers.

Anyone involved in Ohio Workers Compensation self-insurance can be nominated for this award. The person need not be a member of the Ohio Self-Insurers Association. The candidate may be nominated by anyone familiar with his or her duties and responsibilities.

Past Recipients  
1987 O’Neill Family
1987 Vernal G. Riffe, Speaker, Ohio House of Representatives
1987 James T. Parker, Ohio Council Retail Merchants
1987 Richard H. Finan, State Senator
1987 Paul E. Gillmore, President of The Ohio Senate
1988 Frank J. Sampson, (Retired) General Motors
1989 Richard C. Heydinger, Hallmark Cards
1990 Robert L. McAllister, Industrial Commission of Ohio
1990 Hager Fugate, Industrial Commission of Ohio
1991 J. B. Gividen, (Retired) Armco Steel
1991 Andrew E. Doehrel, Ohio Chamber of Commerce
1993 Russell P. Herrold, Vorys, Sater, Seymour & Pease
1993 Justice Robert E. Holmes, (Retired), Ohio Supreme Court
1993 Senator Robert R. Cupp, Ohio Senate
1994 James Petro, Cuyahogo County Commissioner
1995 Robert E. Levitt, Industrial Commission of Ohio
1996 Lawrence Kissel, Cinergy Corp.
1997 Robert A. Minor, Vorys, Sater, Seymour & Pease
1997 Preston Garvin, Garvin & Hickey
1997 Karen Gillmor, Senator, State of Ohio
1997 William E. Thompson. Ohio State Representative
1997 George V. Voinovich, Governor, State of Ohio
1998 James “Woody” Woodward, Ohio Mfg. Assoc.
1999 Barbara A. Knapic, Industrial Commission of Ohio
1999 JoAnn Davidson, Speaker, Ohio House of Representatives
1997 Jim Sharpe, Rockwell International
2009 Patrick J. Gannon, Industrial Commission of Ohio
2009 David E. Boyd, Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation
2010 William Holt, Chrysler
2014 Barbara Marshall  

OSIA Lifetime Achievement Award

Past Recipients
2008 Robin Obetz, Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease

2023 Ohio Self-Insurers Association| All Rights Reserved
PO Box 1073 | Columbus, OH 43216 |